Meet Kelly Devlin

Kelly grew up in the DC metro area, training in a variety of styles at Gainesville Dance Center in Haymarket, VA and American Dance Institute in Rockville, MD. She spent her summers training at schools including Boston Ballet, Ballet Met Columbus, and Complexions Contemporary Ballet. Kelly graduated from George Mason University in 2011 with a BFA in Dance and joined MOVEiUS in 2012. She has also been a guest artist with NextReflex Dance Collective and frequently performs with opera singer Angela Knight. She is currently on faculty at Gainesville Dance Center.

Food: Cheese Pizza
Color: Pink
Book: Dancing On My Grave
Movie: Transformers
Music/Artist/Band: Keith Urban
Party Song: Can’t touch this – MC Hammer
Dinosaur: Brontosaurus

Tell us about your dance background and training:
I began dancing at the age of 2 ½ . I grew up dancing at Gainesville Dance Center in Haymarket, VA, where I studied a multitude of styles including ballet, pointe, tap, jazz, and contemporary. When I was 16 I started dancing at American Dance Institute in Rockville, MD, and joined their pre-professional ballet program. Over the summers I went to ballet intensives including Ballet Met, Boston Ballet, and Complexions Contemporary Ballet. I went to George Mason University and graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Dance.

What genre of dance is your favorite? Why?
I enjoy doing most genres of dance, and currently perform multiple styles, but if I had to choose I would say contemporary ballet. I like that it combines the technique of classical ballet, but that it doesn’t have as many limitations. There is both structure and freedom that is very satisfying for me to perform.

What is your favorite full length ballet/variation/performance? Why?
My favorite full length ballet is The Nutcracker. I fell in love with the ballet when I was 3 years old and have seen and performed many versions of it, but I still love the story line and feeling that it brings. Performing the Nutcracker and knowing that many people watch it as a holiday tradition brings me great joy.
Why do you dance?
I dance because it is my passion. I do not remember a time in my life that I did not dance. It not only gives me great joy, but also lets me express any other emotions I have through movement.
What kind of pointe shoe do you wear?
I like to try different types of  pointe shoes and am constantly switching….but currently I am wearing Russian Pointes – Entrada.
Describe your dream vacation:
I have always wanted to visit Greece. I would love to stay in an Oceanside villa and experience local cuisine and culture.

What other jobs/activities/talents/passions do you pursue?
I am a special education instructional assistant at Cub Run Elementary school in Centreville, VA. I am also on faculty at Gainesville Dance Center in Haymarket VA. Along with Moveius dance I also perform with Next Reflex Dance Collective and with opera singer Angela Knight.

Leave a comment